Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 Newbee needs advice on recurve >

Newbee needs advice on recurve

Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Newbee needs advice on recurve

Old 05-28-2004, 04:18 PM
RTY

Default Newbee needs advice on recurve

Bow Hunters:

I inheirited Bear recurve, the Grizzly model, from my father in law. I've already turkey hunted with it (no success) and am wondering if it has the power to deer hunt with. I'm new to the bow hunting scene and probably wouldn't have ventured in if I hadn't received this nice bow free. Also, I need advice on arrows. I inheirited a hand full of wooden arrows with broad head and they fly pretty well. I'm guessing recurves need a faril light arrow. Is that right? What should I look for when buying new arrows?

Let me knowl.

Live well, be safe.
Rich
Old 05-28-2004, 11:44 PM

Default RE: Newbee needs advice on recurve

First things first, RTL.

Take the bow to a bow shop and have a skilled person examine the bow for twisted limb(s) and condition of glass on the limbs.

Have a new (Dacron) string put on the bow.

Do not use those wood arrows if they a very old. You could end up with a broken shaft sticking out of your bow arm.

To select the correct spined shafts, you have to know the poundage @ what draw-length to know what actual draw-weight you will pull, and your draw-length. Most likely, that Griz is a xx# @28" draw. If your draw-length is shorter than 28", you have to subtract poundage. If your draw-length is longer than 28", you have to add poundage.

Unless worn off or painted over, somewhere on the riser section or a limb you should see the specs of the bow. In writing, the marking will look something like "AMO 58" 55#" which means that the bow is a 58" bow and has a 55# pull at (probably) 28".