Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
New bowhunter this season! Points on starting? >

New bowhunter this season! Points on starting?

Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

New bowhunter this season! Points on starting?

Old 07-22-2014, 09:04 PM
Spike

Default New bowhunter this season! Points on starting?

As the title says im new to bowhunting and want start into it this year. Traditional bowhunting is something that really intrigues me but im not sure how to start. Any tips from the pros? Good starter bow and gear to buy? Ive been looking at Bear recurves and longbows. Any other gear to get started on? I plan to practice a lot to build my skill and start with some small game this year. Thanks guys!
Old 07-23-2014, 06:27 AM
Boone & Crockett

All I can say Bubba is if you want to trad hunt this year you'd better get after it. You'd have a better chance of having a productive year if you went with a compound first. Compound and trad are two different animals. The degree of difficulty in trad vs compound is incredibly high.

LBR on this forum is better about giving advice on equipment and getting prepared; I've been bow hunting over 50 years and LBR will forget more about Traditional Archery than I'll ever learn.
Old 07-29-2014, 12:51 PM
Spike

I understand what your saying and I definately respect it but I'm a firm believer of the "you gotta start somewhere" saying. Being said that my interest and wanting to learn is what drives me to try these new things. As for a productive hunting season I think they are all productive. I don't just hunt to get that trophy animal or to put meet in the freezer, I do it because I love getting out there and knowing that even if I come home empty handed I still enjoyed it.
Old 07-29-2014, 03:15 PM
Boone & Crockett