Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
Newb questions/Trad setup >

Newb questions/Trad setup

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Newb questions/Trad setup

Old 03-04-2013, 05:16 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Newb questions/Trad setup

Hey all,

I'm new to traditional setups, I used to shoot a bit of recurve when I was younger but never had my own bow.

Basically looking at getting the Samick Sage for hunting purposes, I've mainly got Turkey in mind for this bow, but need to determine what my investment is going to be.

1. What pound draw should I choose? I'm thinking 40 or 45, the min. we can use here is 40 and was thinking that a lighter draw would increase accuracy and make it easier to practice, but don't want to hamstring myself by going too weak.

2. What additional "accessories" will I need to get shooting? I'm assuming it's not exactly "ready to go" out of the box, what am I looking at dollar-wise to be ready to shoot? I've heard of a lot of people switching out string right away, do I need a rest, etc.? Basically How much am I looking at in add-ons right away?

3. What should I expect to pay for arrows? I would like to have some degree of consistency out of them, so I won't skimp here if I don't have to.

I know if I did some more research I could probably come up with these answers, but I'm kind of just looking for a rough starting point before I head over to the archery outfitter and either get taken or look like an idiot.

Cheers.
Old 03-04-2013, 06:52 AM
LBR
Boone & Crockett

1. What pound draw should I choose? I'm thinking 40 or 45, the min. we can use here is 40 and was thinking that a lighter draw would increase accuracy and make it easier to practice, but don't want to hamstring myself by going too weak.