Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Old 10-27-2011, 08:13 PM
Spike

Default Newbie

I have been hunting with compounds for 10 years and need something new. i want a recurve bow but know nothing about how buy the right bow, much less equipment or how to shoot the thing correctly!
Does anyone have any tips to find decent resources? i don't trust my local archery store, they are all about selling me a brand new $800 compound after telling them numerous times i wasn't interested.
Old 10-27-2011, 09:26 PM
Spike

There are tons of web sites where you can get some information and most larger libraries have a few good books on the subject.

The best thing, in my opinion, would be to find a pro shop that deals with traditional archery gear. They would be able to help you and, usually, have a few bows you could try, maybe even some used equipment, to start out with. Most importantly, they can put you in touch with other traditional shooters, a club, or, maybe, custom bowyers in the area. With this information, you might be able to shoot a variety of different bows.

Some companies, like Black Widow, have a plan where you can try a bow before you buy one (basically, you buy it, shoot it and, return it for a refund).

Do the research, shoot some bows, and don't get over bowed to start out. There's nothing more discouraging that blowing a grand on a custom take down with an extra set of limbs and finding that the old used Puma hanging in your garage (the one you bought used for $25.00 25 yrs. ago) shoots better for you.
Old 10-28-2011, 06:11 AM
LBR
Boone & Crockett

To me, the hardest part is getting started--there are tons of opinions, and you don't have a clue who to listen to. Books and videos aren't reliable--one of the more popular "beginner" books doesn't even define "Fast Flight" accurately. If you have store within reasonable driving distance that carries traditional gear, they may help...but those are few and far between.