HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Traditional Archery (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/traditional-archery-19/)
-   -   Release? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/traditional-archery/350899-release.html)

Big Bullets 10-04-2011 02:54 PM

Release?

I have a recurve which I just obtained. I have no experience with traditional archery and have been teaching myself to shoot. I am progressing but wondered if anyone uses a release with their recurve. I am trying to build up the calluses but, even with a glove, after a dozon arrows, my fingers feel it.

halfbakedi420 10-04-2011 03:36 PM

my buddy used a leather strap made for this many a moons ago, for the same situation...basically a finger cover.

LBR 10-05-2011 02:33 AM

It can be done, but for me it complicates things. I suggest a cordovan leather tab or a glove with cordovan tips. It will take a little time to break in, but works great once it is.

Chad

wicked251 10-05-2011 02:54 AM

I shoot with a leather glove, they do take time to break in, so do your fingers.

olfatguy 10-05-2011 04:08 AM

I guess a release aid wouldn't be out of the question but, for me kind of defeats the purpose.

If your fingers get bother you after a dozen shots, shoot 8 of 10 and take a break. Better still try some roving (stump shooting) practice instead of hammering a target butt. I think that is a better all around practice, for hunting, and gives your fingers a little longer break between shots.

Long story short - sore fingers, at first, are just part of the game. Like breaking in a new pair of boots, if you don't wear them , they don't get broken in. Get some good tabs and gloves and see which you like best (you can get several for the same price as a good release aid.

Night Wing 10-05-2011 05:04 AM

Another vote for a shooting tab.

Big Bullets 10-11-2011 11:14 AM