Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
Thinking seriously about getting into bow hunting... (Newb Thread) >

Thinking seriously about getting into bow hunting... (Newb Thread)

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Thinking seriously about getting into bow hunting... (Newb Thread)

Old 12-24-2010, 06:43 AM
Spike

Default Thinking seriously about getting into bow hunting... (Newb Thread)

My apologies if a similar thread has been posted before...

I have been giving serious thought to getting into bow hunting. Tho I have experience rifle hunting, It's something I have no experience in. This has been something that has been on my mind for about a year or so and I've always dismissed the idea but as it keeps coming back I'm giving in. I don't know why, maybe it's the basic-ness of it all, but I've been drawn to traditional bows and hunting over compound bows. Because I am/will be just starting out I am looking to begin with a relatively inexpensive bow. For this reason I've been looking at PSE as they start around $200 for either the Sequoia or Mustang. Now my question boils down to 2 things...

1) Is PSE a good company to go with for someone just starting out?

2) For someone who is just starting out, what would be better, a longbow or a recurve?

Beyond that anyone who has experience with either the Sequoia or Mustang bows or any other advice for a newb like me, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance.
Old 12-24-2010, 07:08 AM
Nontypical Buck

Take a look at Martin's trad bows.Much better than the PSE line.
Old 12-24-2010, 09:37 AM
LBR
Boone & Crockett

Martin does make mostly excellent bows (I'd avoid the "Twig" and "Stick"), but I believe they are all out of your price range--at least new.

I haven't had any recent experience with PSE trad bows--what I had in years past wasn't good, to the point I haven't given them another look since.