Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 Building a selfbow--wood recommendations >

Building a selfbow--wood recommendations

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Building a selfbow--wood recommendations

Old 12-18-2008, 09:01 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Building a selfbow--wood recommendations

I'm thinking seriously of taking a shot at building a self bow, hopefully suitable for hunting deer. I'm a complete newbie.

I've got access to several species of wood, but I was thinking about one of these:

1. Shagbark hickory--easily obtained and I'm gleaning that it's easy for beginners.

2. Osage orange--Some sources say this is not a good wood for a beginner as it can be hard to work. I'd prefer using this wood if possible, but want to be realistic about my abilities.

3. Locust-- reading indicates it's also good for beginners. We have a species of locust that is common here. Don't know exact name, but the bark is covered in thorns.

Anyone have any insights? These woods are also easily located in my area: Mulberry, Black walnut, Juniper, Ash, Elm, Oaks, red cedar.

Edit:
I'll add two more questions:
1. Does the back of the bow need to be the outer edge and growth ring or does it matter? My readings have conflicted or been vague about which part of the wood to use.

2. Does it make a difference if I use a limb or do I need to use the trunk of the tree for the bow?
Old 12-18-2008, 09:12 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Building a selfbow--wood recommendations

Boy, I would sure start with osage. Look for growth rings around 1/8" or more.
Old 12-18-2008, 10:35 AM
Dominant Buck