HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Traditional Archery (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/traditional-archery-19/)
-   -   Bow Making and Spokeshave use (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/traditional-archery/265818-bow-making-spokeshave-use.html)

Hunteron60 10-01-2008 07:51 AM

Bow Making and Spokeshave use

I'm new to bow making and amplanning onstarting withmaking a self bow from a sapling.I've read alot in "The Traditional Bowyers Bible" , but some of its info is a little sketchy at best. Iwas wondering what is the best type of spokeshave to use on the bows belly. Can I get away with a straight blade for convex or flat surfaces or do I need one for a concave surface(curved blade)? Also, how do you determine where to locate the handle and arrow shelf? Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

bigcountry 10-01-2008 09:05 AM

RE: Bow Making and Spokeshave use

Ok, I have a spokeshave and it sucks for removing belly material. I use a nice draw knife. You have much more control. In fact, the draw knife just gets used to get down to my ring I want on the "back", and belly only get hits with a ferriers rasp at first for floor tillering, then scraped with a scraper. I use a bandsaw to get the bow down to rough dimensions.

If your trying to get the belly down to rough dimensions with a spokeshave, I would go with a straight one. Especially if your making a flat belly design.

burniegoeasily 10-01-2008 09:43 AM