Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 20 yard mental barrier >

20 yard mental barrier

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

20 yard mental barrier

Old 03-21-2008, 01:33 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default 20 yard mental barrier

I discussed this with Matt/PA a few days ago, and I'm running into this full force. Where the heck does that block come from? I can put an arrow into the kill zone of my 3D deer target ALMOST every time at 10-15 yards. ALMOST 'cause I'm still learning. At 20 yards, it all changes, and I miss the entire stupid deer or get a nasty gut shot or neck shot as often as I hit the kill zone. What causes the mental block? Any ideas?
Old 03-21-2008, 01:45 PM
LBR
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: 20 yard mental barrier

Get more practice. Could be a form error, could be a focus problem. Don't worry about 20 yds right now--get your form down, work on your focus.

I don't step off or measure yardage--that might help also.

Chad
Old 03-21-2008, 02:19 PM
Banned

vision

Your vision probably doesn't allow you to PICK the exact spot you want to hit. Thus your focus is lost.

Do me this ..... tonight put a quarter size white or bright yellow spot on you target. Step to 20 yards or 25 yards.

I'd be shocked if you don't group tight. Why ? You now have something to focus on, a bright spot todraw you to.

try it
Old 03-21-2008, 02:35 PM
Giant Nontypical

ORIGINAL: LBR

Get more practice. Could be a form error, could be a focus problem. Don't worry about 20 yds right now--get your form down, work on your focus.

I don't step off or measure yardage--that might help also.

Chad