Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

CAN IT BE DONE

Old 11-20-2007, 12:39 AM

Default CAN IT BE DONE

Hi, I'm new to this section of the web sight, looking for some help.

I've got a custom longbow made by a guy that used to live in Ft. Calhoun Ne., I think his name was Shafer but not sure, last I knew he was an Omaha Ne. cop, building bowsin his spare time, he got hurt, and I don't know much more than that,can't seem to locate him anymore to ask this question so I'm hopping someone here can help.

When I received the bow, hesaid it wasbuilt tillered one over, two under. I recently shot a buddies longbow that was tillered three under and I liked shooting that way, sighting down the arrow sure helps my confidence, seemed to connect quite abit more with the rienhart ball we were shooting that day. So here it is, can I make some simple adjustment, maybein nocking point and still shoot the bow three under without hurting it? Is there a way to retiller my bow for three under? Or is it something that needs to be checked by a craftsman to see if it's possible. I don't have much experience with traditional archery and recenty had some surgery that made put my compound up. My longbow doesnt pull as hard as my compound and it"s smooth draw and lower poundage is something I can manage.

The bow I have is called the billy stick, He also made the billy club, it was a heavier lbs bow. It really is a beautiful bow, very gracefull lines, I'd call it a long bow but it has a very slight recurve to its limbs and a very distinct shelf cut ito its shaped riser/handle. It is a laminated bow with wood and glass, something special on the limb tips he said allowing the use of a fast string. If someone could help I sure appreciate it, I haven't got anymore inf. on the builder, he had a web site years ago that showed various pic's from hunts in Alaska, float hunting for moose etc. but I can't find anything on line that