HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Traditional Archery (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/traditional-archery-19/)
-   -   What to look for in a recurve? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/traditional-archery/199739-what-look-recurve.html)

SoggyCereal 07-29-2007 04:04 PM

What to look for in a recurve?

This is my first year of archery and recurves look pretty fun to mess around with, so I was looking to pick up a used one online or something. Only problem is, I don't know what I'm looking for. Should I worry about the length of the bow? And what about draw length? Is that adjustable? I was wondering about arrows too, I don't think anyone uses carbon arrows. Aluminum work fine though right? What about fletchings?

Might seem like an overkill of questions, but I don't really know much about traditional archery. Or archery in general, I just think it's fun. :)

Wingbone 07-30-2007 04:13 AM

RE: What to look for in a recurve?

Here is what I look for:
A bow in the 60" or 62" length. At my draw length, (29"), they draw smoother and won't "stack". Unless you've got a shorter draw length, stay away from short bows. I look for long "hooks" at the end of the limbs, this will also help with draw smoothness, and I think those bows are a little faster. I look for a short riser and consequently, long limbs. I look for a bowwitha radiused shelf and a fairly deep grip. Name brands for starter bows: Martin, Bear, and I'm sure others. If you are just starting out, don't go too heavy. 45# is all you'll ever need to go after deer.

SoggyCereal 07-30-2007 04:51 PM

I've been looking at used ones, I want something for around $100 though. I found one but it's at 50# which seems excessive. I mean, I would like to hunt with it some day but it seems like a lot.

Wingbone 07-30-2007 06:15 PM