HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Traditional Archery (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/traditional-archery-19/)
-   -   Shooting high? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/traditional-archery/171152-shooting-high.html)

killzonearchery 12-20-2006 04:12 PM

Shooting high?

I am new to recurves and have only shot about 50 arrows about of my browning, I am having a big problem, i can not stop shooting high not matter what i do. Any advice to shooting you can give me at all would be helpful. Thanks

PAstew 12-20-2006 05:56 PM

RE: Shooting high?

Hey kill,

Welcome to traditional archery. There may be several things wrong. But, it is difficult to know without seeing you shoot.

Try this:

Use a video camera to film yourself shooting. Watch it to see if you are picking your bow arm up after you release. See if you are dropping your draw arm elbow when at full draw. Any thing you can find in your shooting form will help a lot.

Next, your string nock may be too low. Try raising it 1/8" at a time to see if that helps. Also, are your arrows under/over spined?

killzonearchery 12-20-2006 07:57 PM

Thinks for the advice, the people in traditional archery have been nicer then most of the other people on here so I think you all for that. But I have arrows that say 45/60 pounds, is that still spined to high our is it just me shooting.

PAstew 12-20-2006 09:58 PM

45/60's. What is the length of the arrows from valley of the nock to the back of the point?What is the bows draw weight and what is your draw length? Are you shooting split finger or 3 under? Vanes or feathers? Off the shelf or off a rest? Bow's brace height and string nock height? Try to give all the specifics you can.