Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

i want to get started.

Old 10-13-2008, 03:00 PM

Default i want to get started.

Im a beginner hunter and have been thinking hard about concentrating on waterfowl. Besides getting some shooting practice going. Where should I begin as far as huntinmg tips and gear.
Old 10-13-2008, 03:24 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: i want to get started.

Wow... one could right a book on what you could do to get started. The first thing I would do is find someone who has been waterfowl hunting for along time and become hunting partners, or find another person to get started with.Get some waders; some that are most convenient and comfortable for your environment. Scout out some spots: what I do is look at maps such as Google Earth. I'll find small streams and swamps, boat ramps, things like that. Then you need to make a run to that spot and spend a while scouting it out.

As for dekes, I'm assuming you'll be hunting mallards.Just get yourself about a dozen cheap mallard decoys, such as the "Hot Buy" mallard dekes.

Get a mallard call and practice with it. Get a good double reed and master that, and then get yourself a good single reed. Find a call that best fits you... ask around.

One thing that you need is waterproof clothing. Drake Waterfowl Systems are the most comfortable things that I've ever worn, and you will stay %100 dry.

I'm not an expert at this... I just started waterfowl last year. But since then I've been sleeping breathing and eating waterfowl. I've almost completely stopped all other hunting just so i can get ready for the seasons. This is the way I started. I met friends of friends who have done this all of their life, and they'll teach you everything they know, and maybe even show you some of their honey-holes!

Old 10-14-2008, 12:14 PM
Giant Nontypical

The best advice is to start small and simple.