Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Smoking While Deerhunting

Old 09-03-2006, 08:58 PM

Default Smoking While Deerhunting

This is my first time whitetail deer hunting. Can you smoke while dear hunting? I will be in a blind so the deer wont beable to see the motion in between puffs. What are your thoughts about it. (please dont write about i should quit smoking, that is not what im looking for) Thanks
Old 09-03-2006, 09:02 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Smoking While Deerhunting

Dude, i've heard of it being done before but I don't thinkthat anyone can actually give you a deffinitive answer on this ......p.s. Quit smoking.
Old 09-03-2006, 09:31 PM
Dominant Buck

I won't do it in a ground blind, but if you are 25-30' in a tree stand, it won't matter!
Old 09-03-2006, 09:39 PM
Typical Buck

This comes up every year and there are somesay it makes no differanceand some say it scares away the deer. I don't smoke at all but if I am awake I have a big dip of Skoal in. I have seen deer smell around mypath and come on in and some sniff and go. I am out to enjoy my hunt and I can't do that if I am in a nicotine fit from not dipping. If it scares some away so be it but there will be some that pay no attention to the smoke.
Old 09-03-2006, 09:58 PM
Typical Buck

ORIGINAL: sprintflyer

This comes up every year and there are somesay it makes no differanceand some say it scares away the deer. I don't smoke at all but if I am awake I have a big dip of Skoal in. I have seen deer smell around mypath and come on in and some sniff and go. I am out to enjoy my hunt and I can't do that if I am in a nicotine fit from not dipping. If it scares some away so be it but there will be some that pay no attention to the smoke.