Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Thinking of  upgrading arrows? >

Thinking of upgrading arrows?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Thinking of upgrading arrows?

Old 07-15-2006, 09:11 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Thinking of upgrading arrows?

I'm new here and so far it looks really awesome, I'll proably be doing a lot of reading tonight..

Either way, just a quick "opinion style" question.

I've been huning for a couple years with RedHead Carbon Supreme arrows. They are 10.7 grains in. and with a 100gr tip about 480 total weight on the scale at 29-1/2 inches.

I'm shooting a Mathews Outback at about 64-66lbs. with a draw length of 28 inches and using aW.B. for rest.
While these shoot pretty good even with a little drop at 30 yards I might be ready for an upgrade. Plus I'm thinking with a W.B. I could go about 28in. on arrow length.

I've heard a lot of good things about A/C/C, CX Hunter and Terminators, and a lot about the St Axis and Axis Hunters. I don't want to loose too much weight as I really like the KE that I'm getting from a medium heavy arrow.
I mean with wanting a somewhat heavy arrow for hunting and wanting to stay carbon with what I'm shooting are there any opinions that might help me decide what type of arrow to go with?
Old 07-15-2006, 09:42 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Thinking of upgrading arrows?

You can't go wrong with Acc's. I have been using them for several years no with awsome results. Good luck this fall.
Old 07-15-2006, 09:57 PM
Fork Horn

when i started hunting 5 years ago i followed my uncles word and used eastons then about a year ago i made the switch to carbons and i love them i use carbon express edge 350s and they work great with a 100 grain or 85 grain broadhead
Old 07-16-2006, 07:25 AM
Nontypical Buck