Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Blazer vaines?

Old 03-09-2005, 10:26 AM

Default Blazer vaines?

I shoot gold tip XT's 5575. Are the balzers a better vain to have on an arrow like this or will I do just as good with the vain that already comes on it. I have 4" helicals on my arrows. If the blazers are better how do you go about getting them on your arrow? Is the only way to get them on your arrows is to buy the blazers separatly and put them on yourself or what? Thanks. I have seen some other posts that tell that some of you guys put your own vanes on. I'm new to bowhunting, so another question I wanted to ask was what is a good fletching device on the market that pretty easy to use. Are the blazers helical or straight or both? Man, all this new stuff confuses me.
Old 03-09-2005, 11:14 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Blazer vaines?

In my opinion, the blazer vanes are the best thing to come along with respect to fletching in a long time.

The answers to your questions in no particular order.

The only way I know of right now to get blazers on your arrows is to either buy them yourself and fletch them or to have a shop or online retailer custom build your shafts with the blazers attached. You can buy the GT 5575 shafts as just raw shafts and have someone, or yourself build them into complete arrows.

IMHO the best fletching jig out there is the Bitzenberger. Just a bit on the pricey side, but you can occasionally find them used on ebay and such. As far as ease of use, fletching is not exactly rocket science, the procedure itself is pretty simple. What takes a bit to get down is the technique that works for you. Do a search on the web, there is lots of good information on how to fletch arrows.