HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Technical (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical-20/)
-   -   Need help paper tuning (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical/93156-need-help-paper-tuning.html)

elkaddict 03-07-2005 11:49 PM

Need help paper tuning

Over the weekend, I shot some broadheads out of my 03 Patriot for the first time. It seemed that the broadheads were impacting 3"to 4" high at 25yds when compared to my field tips and perhaps plaining slightly. Having a free evening, I tried to paper tune the bow. I'm shooting from about 7'. Started out with low right tears. With adjustments, I've got the vertical adjustment worked out. However, no matter which way I adjust, I cant seem to get rid of the right tear. I'm stumped, but I'm also new to paper tuning. I'm shooting 27.5" gt 7595 at 74lbs. I am shooting a release. For comparison, I shot some 5575s I had laying around and they are fine right to left, but tear downwards (per Eastman, a typical sign of a weak spine). Tonight I've read both Eastman's guide and a chapter from an older book on bow tuning. The book suggests that while unusal, sometimes a right tear evidences too stiff a spine. Could this be my problem? I'm at a bit of a loss to understand how when shooting a release a modestly stiff arrow would tear to the right unless it is caused by hand torque. What am I missing? I do shoot w/ an open hand. I've read repeatedly that for a 70-75 bows such as my Patriots, that, 5575s were probably not stiff enough. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

gibblet 03-08-2005 04:59 AM

RE: Need help paper tuning

are you getting any fletching contact? or contact with the rope of a drop away? might be time to get the baby powder out and see. have you tried moving your rest right and left? what kind of rest? sounds like contact. i don't think you are too stiff for that setup if you are shooting at or over 28.5" draw length, maybe even 28 at 74lbs.