Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

mathews safari

Old 12-30-2004, 09:00 AM
Typical Buck

Default mathews safari

I had thought about buying the mathews safari.Wen i went to the bow shop the guy said,that the safari has no new tec on it.That it is built in an old way and that a new outback or most of the new 70# bows would shoot faster than a #80-#90 bow.I have been shooting at #78 for the last 3/4 years.
I do not buy a bow every year so i would like to make a informative buy.

ty charles bradford
Old 12-30-2004, 09:27 AM

Default RE: mathews safari

You Dealer is handing you some bull. Mathews does not ake a lot of Safari's but the bow is really a beefed up version of the Conquest or close to it. Since it goes up to a 100# pull I would imagine it would send a arrow along rather quickly! The Safari is designed for big game like in Africa. For your average deer hunter I would say it would be a bit of overkill.
Old 12-31-2004, 09:12 AM
Fork Horn

The couple of Switchbacks that we looked at came in 3-5 lbs heavy and that bow holds real well and is very powerful. I'd look at that one, just make sure about the draw they're running a half inch long.
Old 01-01-2005, 10:12 AM
Typical Buck

NOT to good I have emailed mathews many days ago with no addvail.

I hunt elk,moose and bear I do hunt deer allso. This year I am going to a 2 1/2 broadhead .
Old 01-01-2005, 10:25 AM
Giant Nontypical

Elkin !

There is absolutely no need for you to be pulling 70+ for moose and deer sized animal's. I hunt moose with 60# with no problem ,so why have to pull the extra wieght if you don't need to, at the very least I'd go to a 70# bow if your comfortable with it .Here in Ont all you need to hunt moose is 50# to be legal. I'm sure you would be alot more comfortable at pulling less since your only hunting moose and deer .