HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Technical (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical-20/)
-   -   I'm thinking about getting a bow for hunting... (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical/6559-im-thinking-about-getting-bow-hunting.html)

Dan B 02-24-2002 08:10 AM

I'm thinking about getting a bow for hunting...

I want to spend around $700 for complete set-up. I figure I need a forgiving bow, because I'm new at this. 36" ATA with at least a 71/2" brace height. Any suggestions? I went to the pro shop yesterday and the owner suggested the Havotec($539) and the Mathews FX($489 I think). I couldn't shoot them because they had a kids shoot going on at the range. The owner said to come back MON. evening to shoot the bows he recommended. Like I said I'm new so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Also...are these comparable prices to what you have seen at other shops?

Dan Blair

Edited by - Dan B on 02/24/2002 09:15:06

5 shot 02-24-2002 08:18 AM

RE: I'm thinking about getting a bow for hunting...

You are the only one that can choose a bow for yourself, no one else. Shoot both bows, as well as many others if you can. Don't get in a hurry, take your time, and choose the one that suits you best. I write down on paper all the features I want in a bow, then try to find the models that have these features. I then shoot them all and make my choice. The worst thing you can do is get in a hurry! Forgiving bows are around in Plenty now, I persoanaly like a longer bow 36 to 38" A to A, and brace heights of 7 to 7 1/2 inches. These are not the only things that make a bow easy to shot, but I personaly feel they are the most important, for me anyway.

TAKE YOUR KIDS HUNTING AND YOU WON'T BE HUNTING FOR YOUR KIDS

Dan B 02-24-2002 08:27 AM