HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Technical (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical-20/)
-   -   String loop: nock or no nock? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical/63771-string-loop-nock-no-nock.html)

HUNTER919 06-16-2004 09:13 PM

String loop: nock or no nock?

I am new to shooting a loop. Do I need to have a nock with it or not? Right now I am using the loop with one brass nock under the arrows nock. Is this okay or do I need to change it?

gibblet 06-16-2004 09:49 PM

RE: String loop: nock or no nock?

i've shot like that, and it will keep your loop from slipping, but it also affects how your arrow 'sits' (for lack of a better word) between your loop when you draw. it well hold your arrow funny. i discoverd this going from a nap to a bodoodle. the nock pulled the arrow off the rest and held it in the air a little sideways because there is really barely any sideways pressure from bodoodle rest - where there is with the nap, or a tt. that was hard to describe and i hope you understood.

Bigpapascout 06-16-2004 09:59 PM

I tie on a nocking point top and bottom of the nock with #2 FF serving thread to keep the loop from slipping.
a lot less bulky than a brass nock set and will not pinch the nock.
If you decide to keep the brass nock it needs to be on top of the nock instead of under it.

Washington Hunter 06-16-2004 10:00 PM

This is just how I have mine set up. I had it set up the way you were talking about for awhile, but when i changed my loop I decided to try it this way. I think I'm actually hitting a little more consitently this way, but I can't say for sure it has anything to do with the way I have things set up.

*EDIT* You have to keep in mind also that the way I have mine set up will knock off a few FPS. I'm not looking for a lightning fast bow though, just something that will get the job done. You on the other hand may be the opposite and if so, I wouldn't reccomend going this way.