HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Technical (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical-20/)
-   -   How far can I loosen my limb bolts? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical/55601-how-far-can-i-loosen-my-limb-bolts.html)

121553 03-11-2004 09:30 AM

How far can I loosen my limb bolts?

The snow is starting to leave and I just started shooting again yesterday but I failed to write down what my poundage was on my bow when I was hunting last year as I cranked up the poundage on it during mid- season last year. I want to set the bow to the minimum setting till my muscles get conditioned again but how do I find the minimum setting without the limbs coming off? Or do the limb bolts keep spinning to keep the limb from flying off if loosened too much?
I can't take the bow to an archery shop cause the nearest one is two hours away. The bow is this TRX with a setting of 60-70#'s and I think I'm at around 65#'s but not sure really so my question is, how far can I loosen these limb bolts to the minimum poundage without the limbs coming off, or will they? Thanks for any feedback guys, Bobby

Rack-attack 03-11-2004 09:34 AM

RE: How far can I loosen my limb bolts?

I would crank it all the way up again - then back off no more than 4 turns.

PABowhntr 03-11-2004 09:44 AM

Ditto on what Rack stated but I am going to be a little more conservative and say 3 turns. Most of the NAAG bows, like your TRX, normally peak significantly above their listed peak draw weight but one or two, like the G2, peak at or below.....or you could just take it to a shop and have them check it out for you.

121553 03-11-2004 08:38 PM

Thanks guys, thats a start, I'll crank it up and then back off at least to get me going, Bobby

Fieldmouse 03-13-2004 05:49 AM