Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Do you have to wear camo????? >

Do you have to wear camo?????

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Do you have to wear camo?????

Old 11-09-2003, 10:22 AM

Default Do you have to wear camo?????

Im new to bowhunting. Heck, I havent even got my hunting license and tags yet.[:' (] I just bought a bow about a month ago and getting pretty good with it. Now the question is, []CAMO IS EXPENSIVE!! .....do I have to wear it, am I wasting my time if I dont? I bought a wrap around face shield, and my required orange blaze, but can I just put on some jeans and a solid green flannel shirt? Thanks in advance for the input.
Old 11-09-2003, 12:03 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Do you have to wear camo?????

Hi Joe,
Not sure where your from but here in the midwest, you don' t have to have blaze orange to bow hunt, only when you hunt with a firearm. To answer your question, Nope, you don' t have to have camo either. However, it would benefit you to at least get some army surplus stuff. In the old days, guys like Fred Bear didn' t wear it. Just some wool pants and a flannel shirt. By the way, an old fashion flannel shirt with the checkered squares also helps break up your outline.

Hope this helps. And welcome to the Wild, Wild, World of Bowhunting.
Old 11-10-2003, 05:10 AM
Boone & Crockett

I agree with the last post. At the very least try to find some clothes that match in color with the surroundings that you are going to be hunting in. Personally, I feel that both the color and the brightness level of the clothing both are basic contributors to effective concealment.
Old 11-10-2003, 05:26 AM