Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Broad Head isue

Old 09-14-2013, 10:42 AM
Fork Horn

Default Broad Head isue

So I started shooting my broad heads today in final preparation for the coming archery season. I noticed that the broad heads were not hitting where I aimed. I did notice that the arrows that had the broad heads more in line with the vanes seemed to be a little more accurate.
I then turned each broad head to be more in line with the vanes and noticed that my accuracy improved but not sure that was the correct thing to do....
What would you have done?

PS: I prefer feed back that deals with the issue at hand not saying to switch to mechanical broad heads... Not really a fan of mechanical so that is why I am not using them.
Old 09-14-2013, 05:38 PM
Typical Buck

Im not an expert but when I shoot 3 blade fixed blade broadheads i always start with the blades lined up with the fletch and seem to have good results most of the time. But any way i had to turn them to achieve good arrow flight would be fine by me.
Old 09-14-2013, 05:54 PM
Spike

I noticed that you said you are using vanes with a fixed broad head. The guy at my local archery shop recommended that I use a regular fletching arrow for fixed blades because it helps to stabilize them more. I don't know if it will make a huge difference, but it might be worth looking into.
Old 09-14-2013, 06:50 PM
Boone & Crockett

Not to burst anyone's bubble but broadhead alignment with the fletcing has nothing to do with arrow flight. Please read the first two stickys in this forum. If your bow is prpperly tuned your broadheads will hit the same POI as your fieldtips. Feathers will provide some improvement because they do impart more drag and quicker stabilization. Get your bow tuned up and you won't have any arrow flight issues.
Old 09-15-2013, 12:11 PM
Fork Horn