Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
Shooting Form Question >

Shooting Form Question

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Shooting Form Question

Old 02-14-2013, 07:23 AM
Fork Horn

Question Shooting Form Question

I'm new to bow shooting this year. I've been looking at alot of videos on shooting form. One of the things they've been talking about is the follow through. Can someone please explain this to me. Follow through after the shot??
Old 02-14-2013, 07:34 AM
Typical Buck

Follow through is simply that after releasing the arrow, continue to hold your pin on the target or animal until you here the arrow hit. Too many people try to see where the arrow is hitting to soon. This is a bad habit to get into because eventually you will move the bow to see where the arrow hit before the arrow has completely left the bow. Again, continue to concentrate on where you want the arrow to hit even after releasing the arrow. This is proper follow through. HD.
Old 02-14-2013, 10:33 AM
Boone & Crockett

right. Another thing, think of the release as a trigger on a rifle. You don't punch or slap it. You squeeeeeeze it only when your pin is on target. And no matter how good you get, it is impossible to hold the pin dead steady. You want the pin to hoover in a circle around the bull. But with practice the pin will wander less and less to a point where it looks as if it is not moving at all. And don't grip the bow with a death grip. That causes undue torque and detrimental to accuracy.
Old 02-15-2013, 08:27 AM
Typical Buck

Good input bronco. I failed to mention that part. HD.
Old 02-19-2013, 06:24 PM
Boone & Crockett

This is a the best way to show you what the follow thru is; but notice the way he's holding his bow, that is the proper grip. Don't choke it to death!