Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Really, REALLY dumb question about sights >

Really, REALLY dumb question about sights

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Really, REALLY dumb question about sights

Old 09-10-2003, 10:07 PM

Default Really, REALLY dumb question about sights

Hi,

I feel pretty damn stupid on this one. I' m sighting in my bow with my new rest and I think I' m just a tad left. I have a sightmaster sight, and have made adjustments in the past, but it' s always just a guess on the direction, and, always wrong. What' s the rule of thumb. Clockwise/Counterclockwise for ???

I can try one or the other, which I have in the past, but I have finally got this bow shooting on a gnats ass, and I don' t want to go the wrong way.

thanks in advance
Mr. Stupid
Old 09-10-2003, 10:20 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Really, REALLY dumb question about sights

The simple rule is - Follow your arrow. Example: you shoot at the bullseye, you hit left. (you then want to move your pin to the left.) If you hit high, then you move your pin up. so on and so on.

Good Luck!
Old 09-10-2003, 10:29 PM

Wow that was quck!

I do know of the simple rule, I need the simpler rule, if I am shooting left, I need to move the sight left, is that clockwise/counterclockwise? (now you know why I feel so stupid).

thanks
the trashcanman
Old 09-11-2003, 01:09 AM

Thats as simple as it gets!
Old 09-11-2003, 05:54 AM
Nontypical Buck

If you are shooting left you need to move your pin this way <-----

There is no clockwise/counterclockwise adjustment on any sight I' ve ever seen and therefore this is not a direction you could move your pin.
Old 09-11-2003, 06:04 AM

unless He' s got a micro adjustable sight with a horizonal and verticle knob for gang adjustment - then he might be dealing with clockwise and counterclockwise movements.