Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Bow Sights 101

Old 01-31-2012, 12:22 PM
Spike

Default Bow Sights 101

I am new to archery and I was wondering if someone could help out with explaining A few things about sights in general. The real question is what makes a good sight a good sight? Why are some so much more than others, ya a lot of the big money ones have 5 pins. But I know that's not really it. How man pins does one really need for Turkey/deer hunting? Personal prefence?

Also drop away rests vs. whisker biscuits does it have to do with the sight? What's better?
Old 01-31-2012, 12:59 PM
Typical Buck

Most sights made today come with fiber optic pins. Higher end sights will use longer fiber optic material to create a brighter pin. Sight prices will vary with what materials are used and how much fine adjustments are built into the sight. Sights can have different axis adjustment points with higher dollar ones having 3 axis points. The number of pins you need will be determined by how far you want to shoot. I use 7 pins and practice out to 85 yards. Most people can get by with a basic 5 pin sight for around 50 to 70 dollars. Sight really doesn't correspond much with rest type. Whisker biscuit is a good arrow containment rest but I like the ripcord which is a drop away as well as arrow containment system. there are more good drop away rests on the market.
Old 01-31-2012, 02:08 PM
Spike

I shoot a 3 pin sight at 20 30 and 40 pin yardages with a whisker biscuit. All this was already on my bow when I got it and it works just fine for me because theres no way I would feel comfortable shooting a deer out past 40 yards. But thats just me.
Old 02-07-2012, 05:33 PM
Typical Buck