HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Technical (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical-20/)
-   -   Arrow Rest (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical/346222-arrow-rest.html)

iayotehunter 06-29-2011 11:09 AM

Arrow Rest

I just bought a "new" bow and was wondering what type of arrow rest people recommend. I am fairly new to archery and this will be my first year bow hunting. I like the whisker biscuit style rest bet have been told they tear up the fletching. Any suggestions would help.

ryndisher 06-29-2011 01:48 PM

If you want the best of the best get a QAD ULTRA REST HD. Most people these days use dropaway arrow rests, although you need some knowledge to properly set it up.

kathomps 06-29-2011 08:43 PM

I personally would not recommend a drop away rest. I would definitely get a whisker biscuit just for sheer convenience. When you look at most drop aways that dont cost an arm and a leg, you can easily tell that the arrow would fall out if you held the bow at more than 90 degrees (some rests can hold the arrow at a greater angle than others). On the other hand with a whisker biscuit, you can turn your bow at any angle and the arrow will never fall out. I like having a biscuit because I know I can get out of my stand if I want to and do a stalk, which may involve crawling or maneuvering my bow at odd angles, and know my bow will be completely ready to shoot when I need to. O, and you can go pick one up for 30 bucks or so or theres probably cheaper online. As far as the fletchings go, I would think as long as you dont have feather fletchings, you will be just fine. I have rubbery plastic type fletchings and theres no problem whatsoever.

bronko22000 06-30-2011 08:06 AM