HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Technical (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical-20/)
-   -   good mechanical for beginner (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical/337057-good-mechanical-beginner.html)

jicand 12-26-2010 08:37 AM

good mechanical for beginner

Hello, I'm new to archery and am looking to start hunting next year. I have some fixed blade broad heads I plan on trying, but I am also looking into mechanicals. Looking through the last reaper v. rage thread, I wasted about 4 pages on an arguement between 2 posters. Soo, that being said, what mechanical heads do you think I should try. Annika3 I hate to single you out but I've seen your position about rage and really want to hear someone else's opinion. Also as I'm not interested in a mech. vs. fixed debate so take it elsewhere. Thank you.

bigbulls 12-26-2010 02:36 PM

Rocket steel head. It has been proven time and time again to be one of the best penetrating and strongest mechanical heads made. Stay away from huge cutting diameters and stick with a mechanical that a moderate cutting diameter for better penetration. Don't fall for the "cutting diameter is everything" BS. It doesn't matter if you cut a 1" hole or a 2" hole... if you can't get through both lungs because you smacked a shoulder blade with that huge broadhead then you are in for a long day or night tracking your deer.

Another good mechanical is the Wasp jackhammer 1-1/4" cut.

ijimmy 12-28-2010 03:41 AM

rocket steelhead is good , another would be vortex minimax pro , its 2 blade 1 1/2 cut and ive had great sucess with them made by marden

Krypt Keeper 12-28-2010 04:23 PM