HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Technical (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical-20/)
-   -   grip pressure (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical/325830-grip-pressure.html)

kansaswiderack 07-13-2010 04:04 AM

grip pressure

When I started shooting broadheads thru my new bow I was having trouble with them hitting right of my target by 3". Yesterday I went back to my pro shop & they checked it out to make sure everything is in tune. When the tech shot it he was shooting bullets on paper. When I shot it I was getting a pretty good rip. He was telling me that it was my grip pressure-I am not getting proper heel pressure. Does anyone know where I can get some more input on the proper grip so I can cure this. I maybe just having trouble comprehending what he is trying to tell me. I have moved my BH grips to where they are only about 1" to the right with the occassional flier going farther. If there are some grip drills I can do to burn the proper grip into my head that would be great.

The Rev 07-13-2010 06:07 AM

The grip should be relaxed. Let your fingers hang naturally without forcing them to straighten. Avoid grabbing the grip when you release the string.
Many archers go wrong by grabbing the grip when they release the bowstring. It is an involuntary reaction that naturally creeps into the shot and destroys consistency. Focus on keeping your bow hand relaxed throughout the shot. Use a bow sling so that you don’t have to worry about dropping the bow while working on this important skill. Don’t force your hand to stay open, just keep it relaxed and let your fingers hang naturally.