Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
Peak weight not being reached >

Peak weight not being reached

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Peak weight not being reached

Old 05-04-2010, 10:07 PM
  #1  
Boone & Crockett
Thread Starter
 
bronko22000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 12,556
Default Peak weight not being reached

OK all you Gurus out there. I just spent the last hour searching the net to see what the problem is but can't find the answer.
I purchased my new Bengal about a month ago and had the dealer set it up for me at 60# with a 28" draw. (the bow has a DW range of 55-70). I thought I was 'getting used to it' because it seemed to be easier to draw'. I decided to boost up the weight. Well I bottomed out the limbs and hooked it on the scale and came up with a DW of 63.2#. Helllo - Do you think the cables and/or string stretched that far to cause that much change. I probably put about 500 shots through it.
bronko22000 is offline  
Old 05-05-2010, 03:51 AM
  #2  
Typical Buck
 
cartman308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fraziers Bottom, WV
Posts: 500
Default

It's possible. Martin doesn't use the highest quality material for their strings. This equals stretch. Check the ATA and brace height. If they are off then string/cable stretch is more than likely the culprit.
cartman308 is offline  
Old 05-05-2010, 07:31 AM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
 
SwampCollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Where the ducks don't come no more
Posts: 4,420
Default

Unless you are using a weights a measures certified scale... I'd check the scale too.... I've seen quite a few variences over the years.

If the scale is good... then either your cable and string are way out of touch with each other... or you perhaps actually have a 45-60# bow....
SwampCollie is offline  
Old 05-05-2010, 08:08 AM
  #4  
bigcountry
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Not unusual for the cables to stretch. Measure the ATA, get the cable lengths (from Martin) and check em. Might have to twist em up both up a few turns.
 
Old 05-05-2010, 04:41 PM
  #5  
Boone & Crockett
Thread Starter
 
bronko22000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 12,556
Default

I was having trouble getting this bow in tune for the get go. I don't know what the problem was. I got a Martin Cheetah a week ago and it took me about 25 minutes to paper tune, walk back and broadhead tune. Everything fell right into place like it was supposed to.
Anyway, I got discusted with this Bengal. Not only could I get it to fly arrows to my liking but it kept slapping my forearm. The only bow that did this in over 30 years. I took it back to the shop tonight and told him to take off all my stuff and I was going to swap it for a Firecat he had on the shelf. I told him I would be there for it on the weekend.
bronko22000 is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 06:12 AM
  #6  
Boone & Crockett
 
The Rev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burleson Texas
Posts: 12,560
Default

Originally Posted by bigcountry View Post
Not unusual for the cables to stretch. Measure the ATA, get the cable lengths (from Martin) and check em. Might have to twist em up both up a few turns.

That's my suggestion too.. I usually have to twist to tweak it just right with new strings.
The Rev is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.