HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Technical (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical-20/)
-   -   What do you use to glue your inserts in? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical/303129-what-do-you-use-glue-your-inserts.html)

dvallilee 09-09-2009 03:56 PM

What do you use to glue your inserts in?

Will super glue work ok on carbon arrows?

mfd1027 09-09-2009 04:32 PM

I've been using Loctite Super Glue- "Gel" formula for the last 2 yrs. I use it for inserts and fletching. I'm impressed with it's holding ability.

Dan

SwampCollie 09-09-2009 05:10 PM

Steel Force

We do thousands of arrows a year with it. Ready to shoot in 5 minutes... holds like .... well... steel.

MoNoFletch 09-09-2009 06:32 PM

Get the Loctite Gel with the IMPACT additive. Works great!!

JeffB 09-10-2009 05:28 AM

Not a fan of instants though no doubt it works.

Power Bond or Epoxy for me-that way I have time to ensure my inserts are in perfectly straight.

JoshKeller 09-10-2009 07:48 PM

probably not the most popular choice anymore, but I use hot melt glue, and have been with carbons for about 12 years. Easy to heat up the point and insert and turn it as needed.

TFOX 09-10-2009 09:23 PM

probably not the most popular choice anymore, but I use hot melt glue, and have been with carbons for about 12 years. Easy to heat up the point and insert and turn it as needed.

I do as well,but it should be noted that you have to be very carefull with the heat and never in any situation do you apply direct heat to the carbon.

I use Easton hotmelt because it is a very low temp hotmelt and it spreads more evenly than most.

I also heat the glue stick,rub it on the end of the shaft.Then I place a fieldpoint(to hold on to) in my insert and heat the insert JUST ENOUGH to get the insert to slide through the glue.I also rotate the insert as I push it in.