Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
What do you use to glue your inserts in? >

What do you use to glue your inserts in?

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

What do you use to glue your inserts in?

Old 09-09-2009, 03:56 PM
Spike

Default What do you use to glue your inserts in?

Will super glue work ok on carbon arrows?
Old 09-09-2009, 04:32 PM
Typical Buck

I've been using Loctite Super Glue- "Gel" formula for the last 2 yrs. I use it for inserts and fletching. I'm impressed with it's holding ability.

Dan
Old 09-09-2009, 05:10 PM
Nontypical Buck

Steel Force

We do thousands of arrows a year with it. Ready to shoot in 5 minutes... holds like .... well... steel.
Old 09-09-2009, 06:32 PM
Fork Horn

Get the Loctite Gel with the IMPACT additive. Works great!!
Old 09-10-2009, 05:28 AM
Nontypical Buck

Not a fan of instants though no doubt it works.

Power Bond or Epoxy for me-that way I have time to ensure my inserts are in perfectly straight.
Old 09-10-2009, 07:48 PM
Nontypical Buck

probably not the most popular choice anymore, but I use hot melt glue, and have been with carbons for about 12 years. Easy to heat up the point and insert and turn it as needed.
Old 09-10-2009, 09:23 PM
Giant Nontypical

probably not the most popular choice anymore, but I use hot melt glue, and have been with carbons for about 12 years. Easy to heat up the point and insert and turn it as needed.

I do as well,but it should be noted that you have to be very carefull with the heat and never in any situation do you apply direct heat to the carbon.

I use Easton hotmelt because it is a very low temp hotmelt and it spreads more evenly than most.