Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
100grn or 125grn??? >

100grn or 125grn???

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

100grn or 125grn???

Old 07-28-2009, 08:32 PM
byg
Spike

Default 100grn or 125grn???

I am still fairly new to the archery game, but am learning alot on the threads here, but wondering if I have this right. I have been using 125grn fbh, if I switched to 100grn I could gain some speed
but loose some kenetic energy? In a nut shell, what speed difference is there between 125 & 100 grn head. Would I need to re tune w/lighter arrow?

Bear element
28"DL
63#DW

Thanks
Old 07-29-2009, 04:44 AM
Giant Nontypical

Speed gain would be minimal. The worst thing that can happen is you lose valuable FOC which can not only affect your penetration but also can affect arrow flight and group size. If you have the spine to carry the 125's I'd stay with them.

I'm shooting the New 125 grain Grizz trick this year.

Dan
Old 07-29-2009, 07:40 AM
byg
Spike

Thanks for the reply, I am not that concerned about speed.
I am going to get some new arrows and BH's and was just
giving it some thought..I am using a cheap easton arrow and 125grn thunderheads now,they fly pretty good
Old 07-29-2009, 11:38 AM
Nontypical Buck

The quick and dirty answer to your question is why not try both?

Field points are cheap... get a package of each and shoot some of both. You'll be able to tell pretty fast what your bow/arrow set up is going to perform best with... so just roll with it.