Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 new bow tuning question? >

new bow tuning question?

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

new bow tuning question?

Old 03-16-2009, 07:09 AM
Spike

Default new bow tuning question?

I am new to compound bow shooting. I am trying to adjust my sight and peep on my new bow. HoweverI found that the string can not touch my nose top when I make a full draw.(trying to figure out an anchor point myself) The string is couple of inchs in front of my nose. And the peep sight (3/16" hole)seems too small/far from me. I can't see the outside ring of the sight through the peep hole. And my question is: do I need to adjust the draw length of the now or do I need a larger hole peep? Thanks a lot!
Old 03-16-2009, 07:19 AM
bigcountry

Default RE: new bow tuning question?

ORIGINAL: fantarain

I am new to compound bow shooting. I am trying to adjust my sight and peep on my new bow. HoweverI found that the string can not touch my nose top when I make a full draw.(trying to figure out an anchor point myself) The string is couple of inchs in front of my nose. And the peep sight (3/16" hole)seems too small/far from me. I can't see the outside ring of the sight through the peep hole. And my question is: do I need to adjust the draw length of the now or do I need a larger hole peep? Thanks a lot!
This is the reason I loathe short bows. It makes folks use too long draw length so they can touch thier nose or use a kisser. It really depends on your axle to axle length and your draw length. For 29" or under draw, I think nothing under 34" Axle to axle. Just an opinion, not gospel. For 29-31, a 36-37" bow is good.

Maybe post some full draw pics showing your anchor. With these 30" bows, you would be way over drawn to be able to touch your nose.