Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 carbon or aluminum? >

carbon or aluminum?

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

carbon or aluminum?

Old 04-06-2009, 07:48 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: carbon or aluminum?

ORIGINAL: Sniper151

I shoot only aluminum Super Slam's in 2514 with 125 gr. tips. Hunting, target and 3-D. I'm not a fan of carbon arrows.
HaHa I shoot the same arrows for indoors. I got em from Gander for 27 bucks. They are great arrows, especially for that price.

derek
Old 04-06-2009, 08:20 AM
Nontypical Buck

it is 100 times more derable. It dont bend and they shot way better
Old 04-10-2009, 08:39 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: cherokee_outfitters

I've always preferred the weight for penetration especially for elk. But i'm new to the carbon world so I really can't say. I know a miss on a target that hits a rock pretty much has the same effect on the arrow, it's a dead soldier. Time will tell for me. I trully don't know but my ole alums were always on the money.
Yeah, I was an ole die hard fart too but the carbons you'll find out that those pins will be tighter because of the speed. Don't worry about k/c, it will be there.

Bobby
Old 04-16-2009, 05:09 PM
Fork Horn

I'm also not a fan of carbon arrows.

Durability: never been an issue for me, an arrow lost in the bush is lost be it carbon or aluminum.

Weight: I prefer heavy, most carbons are made light.

Price: Have you seen the cost of high grade carbon!!! Outrageous!
Old 04-17-2009, 04:18 AM
Nontypical Buck

Don't think Carbon doesn't bend-in effect most of them do.

Old 04-17-2009, 12:48 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: 121553

ORIGINAL: cherokee_outfitters