Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 biscuit or drop away? >

biscuit or drop away?

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

biscuit or drop away?

Old 03-15-2009, 04:47 PM
Spike

Default biscuit or drop away?

I currently have a carolina biscuit rest. I am still fairly new to archery so I'd like some opinions on whether this type of rest affects accuracy. I don't mind changing over to a drop away rest, but not if I'm not going to see any significant improvement in accuracy. Just thought I'd get some opinions as to what the two different rest styles have to offer.
Old 03-15-2009, 05:29 PM
Spike

Default RE: biscuit or drop away?

both kinds of rests will work. it all depends on personal preference. a lot of guys like the whisker biscuit type rests for hunting because of the full containment. i personally like the drop away style rests the best. they are now making drop aways that are full containment as well. but with the biscuit, you could do cartwheels in your treestand and your arrow won't move. a lot of your setup should depend on what makes you most comfortable as a shooter/hunter.
Old 03-15-2009, 05:42 PM
Typical Buck

I switched from a WB to drop-aways mostly due to peer pressure . The WB is a good rest and you only lose 2 - 3 fps in speed . Fletch your arrows with blazer vanes with a dab of glue on the leading edge of the vanes and they will hold up for a long time . There are also a lot of good dropw-away rests on the market .
Old 03-15-2009, 10:04 PM
Nontypical Buck

^I love your avatar^
Derek
Old 03-16-2009, 09:10 AM
Typical Buck

As a fairly new archer I would recomend that you stick with the biscuit.
They are simple, reliable and just about bullet proof. Get comfortable with your rig, shoot it a lot and at some point in the future, if the urge strikes you, go ahead and try something else.