Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Online Shopping

Old 12-09-2008, 12:16 PM

Default Online Shopping

Hello. I am new to bowhunting and thinking about buying a bow off of the internet from Cabelas or Bass Pro Shop. The only thing I am confused about after doing long hours of research is...how do arrows work? If I purchased them off the internet, would I have to cut them to size myself. And, how do field points work. When I go to purchase them, there are a bunch of sizes and Im not sure which size to choose?
Old 12-09-2008, 12:29 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Online Shopping

Some places will cut the arrows to the length you need them, but since you are buying online, you probably wont no what length they will need to be cut. You will probably need to go to a shop and have them cut for you and the shop will be able to install the inserts as well, and fit you with field tips. Most arrows bought offline will be raw shafts with nothing on them so you will also need to have fletchings put on too. I would suggest you just buy arrows from a shop and have them do everything, so you will know that you have the correct setup.
Derek
Old 12-09-2008, 12:57 PM

If you're new to bows, which it seems you are, you really need to go to a shop and get fitted properly so that you have the proper draw length and poundage, as well as a bow that feels comfortable in your hands. You also need to get the arrows cut to fit the bow and the points that fit the arrows. I've got no dog in this fight so it's up to you what you ultimately do with your money but you'll be much farther ahead in the long run if you take your business to a reputable shop and get set up correctly in the beginning rather than going through the expensive route of trial and error (and headache).
Old 12-09-2008, 01:13 PM
Fork Horn