Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 brace height question >

brace height question

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

brace height question

Old 11-17-2008, 02:59 PM

Default brace height question

im relatively new to shooting archery and havent hunted yet...but plan to in the future.i recently bought a hoyt powerhawk and the recoil it has is a little more then i felt when i shot the alphamax by hoyt and the drenalin by mathews.so i am trying to sell my powerhawk to get a new bow.i have it narrowed down to a hoyt alphamax,mathews drenalin ld,or the mathews monster(or monster xlr8r)but,the new monster series bows havedrasticaly different brace heights.

im wondering what the big difference i will notice shooting from a 7inch brace height down to a 6 or even 5 inch brace height?
Old 11-17-2008, 03:22 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: brace height question

ORIGINAL: jdowney85

im wondering what the big difference i will notice shooting from a 7inch brace height down to a 6 or even 5 inch brace height?
Well I'll say this about a 5" brace height... I know we'll have one here in the shop pretty soon.. I'm eager to see it from a techinical curiosity standpoint, but I think I'm going to take my wrist watch off before I shoot it.

Lower the brace height is, the less forgiving (more difficult to shoot well) a bow will be.
Old 11-17-2008, 03:34 PM
Fork Horn