HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Technical (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical-20/)
-   -   F@#$@n whisker biscuit (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/technical/266757-f-n-whisker-biscuit.html)

Mallardkiller 10-06-2008 06:36 PM

F@#$@n whisker biscuit

frigin thing has ripped my blazers off all but one arrow, and i got them refletched 2 both times at a different shop, any suggestions.

Tumabuck 10-06-2008 06:56 PM

RE: F@#$@n whisker biscuit

a drop away rest? Sorry, never liked the biscuit any. Tear up your fletching and noisey on the draw.

early in 10-06-2008 07:26 PM

ORIGINAL: Mallardkiller

frigin thing has ripped my blazers off all but one arrow, and i got them refletched 2 both times at a different shop, any suggestions.
I've been shooting with a Biscuit for 6 years and NEVER had a vane come off an arrow. I shoot 4" vanes that I refletched myself, and have never had a problem. They can make some noise when drawing though, depending on the finish on the arrow.

pheasantfanatic 10-06-2008 07:26 PM

Put an extra drop of glue at the front and back of your fletchings. That is what I do and I have no problems with my WB ripping them off.

liquidorange 10-06-2008 07:34 PM

its gotta be set up wrong.

ebaybow 10-06-2008 07:41 PM

I had the same problem this year with arrows fletched w/ 4" vanes.
I'd like to help you out with your problem.
Drop tine rest, problem solved!

jemrami9 10-06-2008 08:26 PM

Never had my fletchings get torn off using a fall away either...... Plus its dead quiet. Too each his own however..

Roskoe 10-06-2008 08:35 PM

As mentioned previously, you need a drop of fletching cement at the front and rear of each fletch. Any competent shop should know this. Otherwise, you have some sort of tuning or clearance problem. Going to a drop away may solve your problem with the veins coming off, but there is still most likelysomething not right here with your setup.