Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 My bow has slowed down for some reason >

My bow has slowed down for some reason

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

My bow has slowed down for some reason

Old 09-26-2008, 03:35 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default My bow has slowed down for some reason

Was shooting the other day and i started shooting low all of a sudden, about 4-5 inches low. I can't figure out why it's shooting low. I looked over everthing and made sure everything was tight and it was. It still shoots good and as smooth as can be but it just seemed like it has slowed down. Im not worried about speed, just worried why it slower all of a sudden. Any help would be greatlyappriciated
Old 09-26-2008, 03:46 PM

Default RE: My bow has slowed down for some reason

Are you sure it slowed down? I would say, more likely, a sudden drop is something related to the nocking point, peep, sight, or rest. A gradual drop is more likely to be string stretch, which could very likely be accompanied by a loss in velocity.
Old 09-26-2008, 04:00 PM

If you've actually put it through the chronograph and seen a drop with no other changes, it's likely that the cables have elongated but I doubt you're going to notice that change without a chronograph. You can verify if that happened by checking the poundage for a drop as well. To correct it just twist the cables up to get the weight back.
Old 09-26-2008, 05:59 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: Roskoe

Are you sure it slowed down?
I figured it slowed down b/c after resighting the pins were gapped WAY more that they were before
Old 09-26-2008, 07:48 PM
Fork Horn