Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

blazers

Old 04-22-2008, 11:11 AM
Typical Buck

Default blazers

ok, it might look a little late to ask such a question, since I've been shooting and glueing blazers for about 6 months now.....but here it goes;

I'm shooting fmj's or easton axis and I try to have a little right offset but sometimes the base of the vane doesn't stick all the way to the shaft, mostly the back end of the blazer. If I use goattuff glue it actually makes the gap between the vane and the arrow wider, I tried using less glue and that helps stick it better but then it doesn't last as long as using enough glue but that prevents the vane from sticking in place...

I hope somebody has a neat treat to solve this.

I am using a bitz and goattuff glue.

Frank
Old 04-22-2008, 12:28 PM

Default RE: blazers

I use the same jig and glue. The smaller shafts are tough to get the blazer to bend to and get both ends to lay flat. I have had to hold my finger on the end that want to rise up while in the jig to get more contact with the shaft. You can count to 20 and it usually is fine after that. And like the instruction most have I always put a dab of glue on the ends of the blazer to be sure they stay put longer.
Old 04-22-2008, 02:18 PM

I'm using the same jig as well - Blitz with right helical. With careful adjustment of the ends of the clamp, you can get full complete contact with no finger tweaking necessary. It takes a little more timethan setting the jig up forlarger diameter shafts, but it can be done.
Old 04-22-2008, 05:16 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: Roskoe

I'm using the same jig as well - Blitz with right helical. With careful adjustment of the ends of the clamp, you can get full complete contact with no finger tweaking necessary. It takes a little more timethan setting the jig up forlarger diameter shafts, but it can be done.