Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Arrow Lethality

Old 02-10-2008, 06:03 PM

Default Arrow Lethality

Hi, guys,

I'm a newbie here, but was wondering if anyone has read the article in Traditional Bowhunter Feb/Mar 2008 about arrow lethality. I was always under the impression that a lighter arrow traveling faster would be better than a heavier arrow moving slower. My eyes were opened up by that article. I learned a lot about arrows that I didn't know. There is so much good stuff in there that I reccomend that it be read by all hunters. I missed part one of the article, having just got a subscription started.
Old 02-10-2008, 08:05 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Arrow Lethality

From what I understand you can't compare a traditional bow with todays compounds. A traditional bow is so slow that you need a heavy arrow in order to achieve adequate penetration. With a compound the extra weight is only necessary on large game like moose or bear. Ondeer sized game a passthrough is a passthrough regardless of the arrow weight. Shot placement is much more important and a lighter arrow shoots flatter.
Old 02-10-2008, 08:26 PM
Nontypical Buck

You're talking about momentum. This always starts a heated debate on here.

The problem with just stating a lighter faster arrow compared to a heavier slower arrow is that it's all bow dependant and no numbers are presented with your statement. Meaning, how light what were the arrow used and what equipment were they shot out of?

Since traditonal bows are not very fast the traditional bows needheavy arrows to have enough momentum to push through, or into, game. That goes for people who shoot very light compound bow draw weights too.

Modern compounds can launch a light arrow at high speeds so that the arrow uses it's velocity instead of weight to push through game.