Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 OK how's MY form?  :-) >

OK how's MY form? :-)

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

OK how's MY form? :-)

Old 12-28-2007, 05:12 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default OK how's MY form? :-)

I just snapped this pic of myself in response to the many "How's my form" themed threads and tobriefly showwhat I look like at full draw with an index /wrist strap style release.
I do shoot thumb trigger releases a lot but this is my typical hunting set-up which is what most of you guys are.

I'm NOT a professional archer but I think this is decent reference for proper form, bow fit and body positions.
* Release is a Scott "Wildcat" on a string loop, and my finger is BEHIND the trigger for safety

(By the way setting the self timer , grabbing the bow and running around to aim comfortably in 10 seconds aint easy! )

By all means feel free to critique.

Old 12-28-2007, 05:18 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: OK how's MY form? :-)

Matt, You look tooserious!! Lighten up

Well I had to pick on something

Gotta get one of those Constitutions someday soon

Dan
Old 12-28-2007, 07:08 PM
Giant Nontypical

You are agood enough archer to know what works for you,that is what is important.

The video that rick/matt posted in gmmat's post on thumb triggers is just about perfect.IMO http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v283/ringostar40/Archery%20Competition%20and%20Form%20Pics/?action=view&current=24958d05.flv

In my pics my head/chin is higher than yours and rick's is somwhere in between both of us,which I feel is considered "perfect".

Looks like you really have the front shoulder loaded,ALOT, and it is working up on you.I personally can't shoot like that but whatever works.For hunting,I like what I see,for serious target shooting,there would be some slight adjustments made if you were to see a coach.