Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Which Carbon Arrow >

Which Carbon Arrow

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Which Carbon Arrow

Old 10-16-2007, 05:20 PM

Default Which Carbon Arrow

I am new to all of this and the more I read about carbon arrows the more I am confused. I am not sure that I am shooting the right arrow or the one that was most convient for the shop.

I have aGuardian 70pound bow. Adjusted to about 65 pounds with a 28.5 draw and a current arrow length of 29.25 lenght

I am currently shooting the lt whitetail 65/80
I do not know the weight, spine or seight of my arrow tips.

I assume I would like to shoot around 100 grain tip as that seems what looks like a number of braodheads will weight and plan to shoot fixed blades as there does not seems to be a problem with hunting those anywhere.
Thanks for your help in advance.
Old 10-16-2007, 05:47 PM

Default RE: Which Carbon Arrow

If you were shooting Easton arrows, you would be just past the line between a 400 series spine anda 340 series spine. With a little shorter arrow, a couple pounds lighter draw weight, or a 75 gr. head; you could use a 400 series arrow. I might crank the bow up a couple of pounds, if it's not overbowing you,andtry a 340 arrow.
Old 10-16-2007, 05:52 PM

Ok i am planning to up the poundage here shortly. I have just gotten back into it and need a little time to get my shoulders to get back into shape.

I guess what I do not understand what is the difference between a 400 and 340 arrow.
Old 10-16-2007, 09:13 PM