Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Carbon vs aluminum arrows >

Carbon vs aluminum arrows

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Carbon vs aluminum arrows

Old 10-07-2007, 10:23 AM
Spike

Default Carbon vs aluminum arrows

I'm just getting into the sport of bowhunting and am looking for some advice on my first setup. I'd love to get people's opinions on carbon arrows vs aluminum arrows. After talking to some friends and doing some reading it seems like people definitely favor the carbon arrows so I was set to go that route. However I've also run accross a few posts with a good number of people reporting that a carbon arrow has exploded when shot, in most cases causing injury to the bow hand and in one case, amputation of the forearm due to carbon poisoning. I've also heard that after being shot a deer can shatter the arrow while running if you don't get a passthrough and ruin much of the meat.
If anyone here has had experiences with carbon and/or aluminum arrows I'd be very interested in hearding about them. I'm not afraid to shoot the carbons, but I'm curious if the pros outweigh the potential cons. Maybe these are a very few isolated incidents and blown out of proportion, or maybe not, I'm not really sure at this point. Can anyone throw some of their veteran bowhunter advice my way?
Old 10-07-2007, 11:03 AM
bigcountry

Default RE: Carbon vs aluminum arrows

Goodness, I have killed alot of deer in my life, and can't say I have came across alot of what you say as far as a danger to my health. I remember back in 1984 or 86, when we all bought bemans, they actually did shatter and it caused injury. But after they have been radially wrapping them,I haven't heard of a shatter in over a decade. Also, I have had alot break in a deer while running or roll over on them, whatever, but haven't ruined meat over it.