Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Carbon vs aluminum arrows >

Carbon vs aluminum arrows

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Carbon vs aluminum arrows

Old 10-10-2007, 04:14 PM

Default RE: Carbon vs aluminum arrows

Arthur P you must be as old as me. I started shooting back in 1965 and was shooting pro at 21 with my old recruve with a 300 average indoors and I was shooting 50 to 100 arrows evey day of the week. I have also used about evey arrow out there hunting with wood, fiberglass, aluminums and carbons. I was alway looking for a better arrow to hunt with. My way of thinking was that I owed it to the game that I hunted to use the best tools and to shoot at my best to make a cleanest kill that I could. When the first carbons came out afc's. I thought I had found it and was shooting 300s 50 x's finger indoors, shooting in the 520's to 530's Field and taking two to there bucks a season and maybe a Elk. 2200 afc's target bow and 2540"s with my 70 lb hunting bow. Person won Vegas with them, yes shooting the older ones and how I was now blowing through every thing I shot, I wasn't getting that all the time with alumninum and I have shot about every size of aluminums made with 65 to 70 lb's recurves and compounds. When the New carbons came out I though it was great thing no more outserts, but I had lost some of the penetration that I had with the older ones and I still thing that. The smaller around and ticker wall penetrated better, Easton knew that and I had talked about it years ago with some the staff at a trade show. Look what they have new the axis arrow and look what they are saying about it. Arthur P sorry, I have also shot concrete blocks. trees, steal pipes and other things, hands down carbon have come out on the better end. In 42 year of bowhunting and competition personally I do think Carbons do have lots