Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Arrow Rest Recommendation Needed >

Arrow Rest Recommendation Needed

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Arrow Rest Recommendation Needed

Old 08-19-2007, 10:52 AM

Default Arrow Rest Recommendation Needed

Hi everyone I am new to the forum and I was hoping you could provide a recommendation for a new arrow rest. I stillconsider myself as somewhat of a beginner when it comes to archery so I need some help. This is rather lenghty so you might want to grab a cup of coffee.

I shoot a Darton Avalanch set at 60# and have been using carbon express CX200 arrows with fixed broadheads. I use a TRU Ball release and have a peep on the string. The arrow rest is a NAP Quick Tune 2000. I have been using this setup for about 3 years now and has been very accurate and reliable for me with one exception and that is hunting in very cold weather. This is more of a problem with the shooter than the equipment so I will try to explain my problem.

I do my deer hunting in Michigan where I reside. Most of the year I have no problem with the setup. However I like to go to the Upper Penninsula a few daysbefore the November 15 gun deer opener and hunt with my bow. Temperatures are typically quite cold and the weather is wet but the buck are rutting heavily there during that time. Hunting in the cold I have blown a couple of excellent opportunities on nice bucks because I had trouble keeping the arrow on the prongs of the rest when going to full draw. Body is stiff, shivering from the cold, etc. Also I should add that I hunt almost exclusively on the ground during that early November period.

To help me during the cold weather I was considering changing to a Whisker Buscuit rest. However I have heard mixed reviews of this rest when used in freezing weather.