Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Arrow Falls Off when I draw Back >

Arrow Falls Off when I draw Back

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Arrow Falls Off when I draw Back

Old 06-16-2007, 07:38 AM

Default Arrow Falls Off when I draw Back

Just Got A Mattews Switchback XT about 2 months ago The problem Im having is when drawing back the arrow falls off the string.Took it back to where I got it and they change the nocks on the arrows which help but really didnt fix or tell me why it is doing it.I got knocks on the string and us a trigger release bow is set to 64 pounds at a 28" draw.Now to be fair Im new at shooting a compound but never had this problem with my recurve.
Old 06-16-2007, 07:51 AM

Default RE: Arrow Falls Off when I draw Back

You need a string loop. The angle on the string is too extremefor nocks and the release under the arrow.Ashort ata bow withstringnocks anda release under the arrow is a recipe for disaster.

Get a loop put on the string before you dryfire the bow.
Old 06-16-2007, 07:53 AM
Giant Nontypical

Most likely the nock is getting pinched off the string. The string is passing through the nock at such an angle that the nock can't stay on it. Install a string loop it won't happen again.

Old 06-16-2007, 07:54 AM
Boone & Crockett

Ditto on the string loop.

If you still want to shoot off the string then at least install some eleminator buttons on the string. They act as a cushion between the release and the arrows nock.
Old 06-16-2007, 08:02 AM
Nontypical Buck

I've got a short ATA bow with parallel limbs, and I shoot off the string. My DL is 27". I use an eliminator button as a cushion between the release and the nock. Never had an arrow fall off the string.

Old 06-16-2007, 08:14 AM