Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 How many turns out?? >

How many turns out??

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

How many turns out??

Old 03-04-2007, 08:35 PM

Default How many turns out??

I have a youth bow for my son with the limbs tight it 40lbs a little to hard to pull at this time, how much can I loosen the limbs, 5 turns out??
Old 03-04-2007, 08:49 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: How many turns out??

I am no expert, but I think 3 full turns is usually the 10 lb swing that limbs can tollerate. Use your best judgement based on how far out the screws are coming. On a lighter poundage bow you can fudge a hair. I just did it with a youth browning for my little girl.
Old 03-04-2007, 09:03 PM

Well it was 4 out when I got it and I went another half I'll test it make sure the limbs don't pop off
Old 03-04-2007, 09:50 PM

I initially went six turns out on my son's Fred Bear Element 50/60. After playing around with groups and arrows, settled on four turns out. It brought the pull weight down to 51 lbs. from the 60 lb maximum.
Old 03-04-2007, 11:48 PM

As far as it staying together you can back it off several....I would venture at least 10 .....BUT, It won't shoot worth a hoot, too sloppy.
I would put it on a scale and go to #28 lbs and not lower. On most youth bows you only get about 2lbs/turn. Of course, if you know it was 40# you must have a scale at your disposal. If so, you can test all of this. If no scale is avail. I would go down 6 turns total and see how your young one does. Just be cautious of too much slack in the cables. That is your biggest concern. Don't want it to jump off the cam....that's when things get real hairy, real fast.

If you need more help, let me know. If you want to PM w/specifics of the bow, I may be able to help you more.

Dave
Old 03-05-2007, 04:11 PM