Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Bow arm drop

Old 02-17-2007, 06:14 AM

Default Bow arm drop

Please help, I started shooting a bow league and am finding myself dropping my bow arm. Any ideas about fixing this? Thanks
Old 02-17-2007, 06:21 AM

Default RE: Bow arm drop

yep, a pure back tension release.

unfortunately you've learned when you're about to shoot, and your body is breaking down just ahead of time. happens to all trigger shooters w/out rigorous methods of avoiding it (whether they'll admit it or not).
Old 02-17-2007, 06:24 AM
Nontypical Buck

I have used this method to help many archers with the same problem as you.
When you trigger the release watch the arrow through your peep and through your sight houseing all the way until you see the arrow hit it's target...... watching the arrow through the sight houseing until it hits the target will make you hold the how there until you see the arrow hit.
Hope this will help you.

Old 02-17-2007, 07:32 AM
Nontypical Buck

I have shot over the top of a plastic lawn chair in front of me. It helped as I did not want my bow to drop on the chair.
Old 02-18-2007, 10:47 AM